welcome to www.rubim.com
rubim de toledo . bassist . composer . educator

Home Bio Music Videos/Photos Press Lessons Contact    


Alberta bassist and composer, Rubim de Toledo, combines the influences of his Brazilian heritage and his dedication to the jazz tradition, to create an approach to music that is refreshing and uplifting.  Boasting a diverse rhythmic palette inspired by world music, jazz, and contemporary music, a lure towards improvisation and a forward-looking traditionalism, Rubim nurtures a commanding sound and style as a bassist, soloist, and composer.

Rubim began his professional career in Edmonton at the age of seventeen performing with Albertan Jazz legends, Tommy Banks, PJ Perry and Clarence “Big” Miller.  Since then he has become a sought-after sideman and a productive bandleader. 

With his fourth and newest release, “The Bridge,” Rubim distinguishes himself as a composer with a unique ability to explore jazz styles while maintaining a sound that is modern yet inviting.  Featuring internationally renowned trumpeter Sean Jones and an all-star Albertan lineup, the disc boasts lush arrangements embellished by compelling solo improvisations.

His third release,” The River,” garnered considerable critical and popular acclaim, including a Western Canadian Music Award nomination for “Best Jazz Album” of 2009.  Its opening track was selected as CBC radio's Tonic theme song and the album placed in the top ten of Canadian college and public radio charts extensively.

For the last ten years, Rubim has been working extensively as musical director with Calgary’s Decidedly Jazz Danceworks where he has acted as musical director and composer for ten major projects.  He is a passionate music educator and has worked as the director of the Mount Royal University Summer Jazz Camp and the Jazzyyc Youth Lab Band.

Rubim is Section Head of the Bass Department at MacEwan University in Edmonton, Alberta where he is eager to share his experience in jazz, world, and contemporary styles to the next generation of aspiring musicians.

Selected Performances (Other)

Performed and/or recorded with artists such as Vince Mendoza, Mulgrew Miller, Wayne Bergeron, Terrell Stafford, Dick Oatts, Wycliffe Gordan, Peter Bernstein, Sean Jones, Jason Marsalis, Luis Bonilla, D.D. Jackson, Victor Goines, Sheila Jordan, Jay Clayton, Tomas Chapin, Ralph Bowen, Gary Smulyan, Peggy Stern, Dave Mancini, Geoff Keezer, Dana Hall, The Spin Quartet, Hendrik Meurkens, John Riley, Oliver Jones, Ross Taggart, Phil Dwyer, Mark Kelso, Brad Turner, Hugh Fraser, David Braid, John Stetch, Ingrid Jenson, Christine Jensen, the Doxas Brothers, Denzel Sinclair, PJ Perry, Tommy Banks, Clarence “Big” Miller, Gordon Gordina, the Calgary Jazz Orchestra, the Calgary Creative Arts Ensemble, the Edmonton Jazz Orchestra, Mary Chapin Carpenter, the Canadian Tenors, Laila Biali, Misha, Jens Linderman, The Legendary Platters, Jakie Richardson, Ellen McilWaine, Fernanda Cunha, Eliana Cuevas, Telmary, Inti Illimani, Oscar Valdez of Irakere, Oscar Lopez, Maren Ord, Eduardo Mendoza, Jose Seves, Rita Chiarelli, Rachelle Risling, Jack Semple, Alfie Zappacosta, and Bomba.

Selected Awards and Nominations

  • Western Canadian Music Award w Jim Brenan "January" Best Jazz Recording (2014)
  • Bassist for winner of the Alberta Book Publishing Award - Best Children and Young Adult Book of the Year in 2013 for From Blue to Red
  • Solo CD "the River," nominated for Western Canadian Music Award - Best Jazz Recording (2010)
  • Nominated for Western Canadian Music Award w Brenan Brothers - (2010)
  • Mayor’s Award for Excellence in the Arts - Edmonton (2007)
  • Nominated for Western Canadian Music Award w Bomba - Best Jazz Recording (2006)
  • Nominated for Canadian Music Week Indie Outstanding Latin Music Award (2005)
  • CBC Galaxie Rising Star Award recipient with Bomba (2004)
  • ARIA group of the year award with Maracujah (1998)

Selected Discography

  • The Bridge (Rubim de Toledo) - featuring Sean Jones
  • The River (Rubim de Toledo) - WCMA Nominee
  • Seu Swing (Rubim de Toledo)
  • In Charcoal and Crimson (Rubim de Toledo)
  • reClaim Volume 1 (reClaim)
  • reClaim Volume 2 (reClaim)
  • Cuatro Caminos (Bomba)
  • Entre Sol y Luz (Bomba) - WCMA Nominee
  • Lo Que Bomba Te Da (Bomba)
  • A Mi Me Gusta (Bomba)
  • The Throw Down (Brenan Brothers) - WCMA Nominee
  • January (Jim Brenan) - WCMA Winner
  • Spectre (Jim Brenan)
  • More Rocky Mountain Fairy Tales (Sam Whelan)
  • From Blue to Red (Storyfair productions)
  • Launch (Tyler Hornby)
  • Passages (Sandro Dominelli)
  • the D.A.D.s Trio (de Toledo, Andrew, Dominelli)
  • Sounds of Brazil (de Toledo, Andrew, Dominelli)
  • Jump To It (Dave Babcock)
  • Up All Night (Peter Manley)
  • Willow Brocke (Willow Brocke)
  • Fortress of Solitude (Don Berner)
  • Home Town Riot (Develsplender)
  • Hiding from the Cold (Devilsplender)
  • Modest Charms (Beth Arrison)
  • Seemore (Christian Mena)
  • Bleach Bone Choir (BBC)
  • Madame (Madame)
  • Flow (Flow - Attack Records)
  • Senat (Leandro Goncalves)
  • Sextet (Don Berner)
  • Ai (Tim Tamashiro)
  • Maracujah (Maracujah)
  • All in Time (Rachelle Risling)
  • Beyond the Dover (Susan Weatley)
  • Andrew / Berner Quartet (Andrew / Berner)
  • Prequel - Mixing and Mastering Engineer (Prequel)
  • Truth be Told - Mixing Engineer (Chris Andrew)
  • Not so Fast - Recording and Mixing Engineer (Chris Andrew)
  • Live at the Winspear Centre - Recording, Mixing, and Mastering (Victoria School)
  • Compilations: Diasporama - Chilenos en Canada | Made in Alberta - Alberta Foundations for the Arts (2009) | Made in Alberta - Alberta Foundations for the Arts (2004) | Coming Home - Grant MacEwan College (2004) | Beat Niq Compilation (Various)





contact: info@rubim.com
copright @ 2016